How much does a Connecticut auto dealer bond cost?
The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles requires motor vehicle dealers, repairers and leasing/renting companies to post surety bonds to legally work within the state. Auto dealers must post a $50,000 bond, motor vehicle repairers must post a $5,000 bond and motor vehicle renting/leasing companies must post a $10,000 surety bond.
Connecticut leasing or rental company and vehicle repairer bonds are issued instantly and cost just 1% of the total bond amount. Surety bonds for Connecticut vehicle dealers are subject to underwriting, but can cost as little as $300.
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost|
|$50,000 Auto Dealer, Repairer or Leasing Bond Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond||$50,000||Starts at $300||GET A QUOTE|
|$10,000 Auto Dealer, Repairer or Leasing Bond Leasing or Rental Company||$10,000||$100|
|$5,000 Auto Dealer, Repairer or Leasing Bond Motor Vehicle Repairer Bond/Limited Repairer Bond||$5,000||$100|
Why do I need this bond?
Connecticut vehicle dealer bonds ensure that principals (dealer, repairers and leasing/renting companies) conduct business in compliance with all state and federal laws. If the principal conducts business unethically and unlawfully, the bond protects any person who suffers financial loss as a result of the principal’s actions. The surety covers all damages up to the full penal sum of the bond, and the principal must reimburse the surety for all damages paid out.
Looking for information on getting a bonded title for a vehicle in Connecticut? Visit our vehicle ownership title bond page to find out why these bonds are required, how much they cost, and how to get yours today.
What’s the fine print?
Connecticut motor vehicle dealer, motor vehicle repairer and motor vehicle leasing or rental company bonds remain in full force and effect until canceled or violated. The surety can cancel the bond by giving written notice to the state at least 30 days prior to the effective termination date.
Applicants should be sure to indicate the correct license type on the surety bond form.
How to become a motor vehicle dealer or repairer in Connecticut
To become a licensed motor vehicle dealer or motor vehicle repairer in Connecticut, applicants must provide the following information and materials:
- type of license
- name under which business will be conducted
- full address of location for which license is requested
- mailing address, if different from location address
- type of business ownership
- proof of a factory franchise to sell vehicles at the business location
- surety bond in the proper amount
- certified and notarized application packet
Access the complete licensing information packet from the Additional Resources section of this page.
State of Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles Motor Vehicle Dealer, Motor Vehicle Repairer/Limited Repairer or Leasing and Rental Company Bond form
State of Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles Procedure for Obtaining a Connecticut Automotive Dealer’s or Repairer’s License
State of Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles Dealer and Repairer Business Regulation