How much does a Florida certificate of title bond cost?
The State of Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Division of Motorist Services requires individuals who own a vehicle with a lost or stolen title to post a surety bond to get a bonded title. The amount of the surety bond should be equal to twice the appraised value of the vehicle established by the Kelley Blue Book valuation guide.
Florida certificate of title bonds up to $6,000 cost just $100 and are issued instantly, while bonds between $6,000 and $25,000 are issued instantly at a rate of $15 per thousand dollars of coverage. If a bond is required in an amount greater than $25,000, an underwriter will review the application to determine the cost.
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost*|
|Up to $6,000 Certificate of Title Bond 3-year term||Up to $6,000||$100||GET A QUOTE|
|$6,001-$25,000 Certificate of Title Bond 3-year term||$6,001-$25,000||$100+||GET A QUOTE|
|$25,001+ Certificate of Title Bond 3-year term||$25,001+||Subject to Underwriting||GET A QUOTE|
Why do I need a certificate of title bond in Florida?
A Florida certificate of title bond is needed as a means of indemnifying all prior owners and lienholders as well as all future purchasers of the vehicle against any expense, loss or damage that occurs as a result of the issuance of bonded title. Florida Statute 319.23(7) establishes the requirement for those seeking a bonded title to first get a surety bond.
Please note this bond is required for a vehicle title to be issued. If you are planning to sell cars and other vehicles, you must have a Florida motor vehicle dealer bond.
What is a Florida bonded title?
Essentially, a bonded title serves as a guarantee to the state of Florida that you are the owner of the vehicle that has a lost or missing title. It protects the public as well as the state.
Bonded titles are required by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) Division of Motorist Services if you do not have a title for your vehicle and cannot prove ownership.
What kind of vehicles can I get bonded titles for?
The Division of Motorist Services stipulates that a vehicle eligible for a bonded title must have been sold in a private sale and must be an automobile, a truck weighing less than 8,000 pounds, or a motorcycle. The vehicle must also be between 10 and 25 years old and it must have a current Florida paper title. Vehicles with security interests, liens, or encumbrances are ineligible for a bonded title.
Florida does not issue bonded titles for vessels, mobile homes, recreational vehicles, or off-highway vehicles. If you require a title for any of these types of of vehicle, refer to Form 82040.
How do I get a bonded title in Florida?
To get a bonded title in Florida from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, applicants are required to take the following steps:
- Fill out Part A of the Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer Verification form
- Get your vehicle inspected and then fill out Part B of the form
- Purchase a Florida certificate of title bond in an amount equal to twice the KBB valuation
- Complete the application and affidavit
- Pay the necessary sales tax and motor vehicle title fees
- Submit all materials to your nearest FLHSMV office location
Considerations for lost title bonds
Lost title bonds in Florida expire 3 years from the effective date. The year, make, body type, retail value, and vehicle identification number of the vehicle must be listed on the bond form. If the applicant has it, the Florida title number may also be printed on the bond.
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles: Liens & Titles
319.23 Application for, and issuance of, certificate of title.