1 (800) 308-4358
Mon-Fri 7am-7pm CST
  1. 1. Choose A State
  2. 2. Choose A Bond
  3. 3. Enter Your Contact Info
  4. 4. Receive Your Free Quote

Missouri Certificate of Title Bond

How much does a Missouri certificate of title bond cost?

The cost of a Missouri certificate of title bond depends on the amount of the surety bond being required by the Missouri Department of Revenue and is calculated as follows:

What is my bond amount?

The Missouri Department of Revenue requires the bond amount to be twice the appraisal value of the vehicle and it cannot be less than $100. The vehicle owner can calculate the amount of his or her bond using Kelley Blue Book or by getting the average of two appraisals from licensed Missouri motor vehicle dealers. Although it is the responsibility of the vehicle owner to determine their bond amount, it is recommended that you contact your local DMV if you have any questions about the process.

Bond Type Bond Amount Cost*
$100-$10,000 Certificate of Title Bond $100-$10,000 $100 GET A QUOTE
$10,001-$25,000 Certificate of Title Bond $10,001-$25,000 $100+ GET A QUOTE
$25,001+ Certificate of Title Bond $25,001+ Subject to Underwriting GET A QUOTE

What is a title bond and why do I need one?

A title bond is a financial guarantee required when a vehicle owner cannot provide adequate proof of ownership. If the title is lost or defective, the Missouri Department of Revenue may tell an applicant to get a surety bond as a means of getting a bonded title, which gives them the same ownership rights as a regular title. The bond is in effect for 3 years, at the end of which they can receive an original title to the vehicle.

The Missouri Department of Revenue requires vehicle owners to get a lost title bond to protect itself from any financial losses that might occur as a result of the issuance of a new certificate of motor vehicle ownership. In the event a claim is made against the bond, the surety will cover any losses up to the full amount of the bond and the principal must reimburse the surety for all money paid.

To qualify for a bonded title in Missouri, the vehicle being titled must be at least 7 years old and cannot have a value of more than $3,000. Bonded titles will not be issued for vehicles if there is a record of it being titled previously with the Motor Vehicle Bureau or if there is a record of conflict over the ownership of the vehicle.

Overnight Shipping
50,000 Satisfied
Customers Nationwide
No Hidden Fees

This bond only allows a vehicle title to be issued. If you plan on selling cars and other vehicles, a Missouri motor vehicle dealer bond is required.

Can a Missouri title bond be canceled?

A Missouri title bond can be canceled at any time by the surety, as long as written notice is provided to the DMV at least 30 days prior to the proposed cancellation date.

Additional Resources

Missouri Department of Revenue: Titling and Registration

SuretyBonds.com | More Information on Title Bonds

Missouri Titling Manual

301.192. Bonded vehicles, certificate of ownership may be issued, requirements