1 (800) 308-4358
Mon-Fri 7am-7pm CST
  1. 1. Choose A State
  2. 2. Choose A Bond
  3. 3. Enter Your Contact Info
  4. 4. Receive Your Free Quote

North Carolina Certificate of Title Bond

How much does a North Carolina indemnity bond cost?

Most North Carolina indemnity bonds, also known as certificate of title bonds, are issued instantly, but that is ultimately determined by the required bond amount. Bonds up to $5,000 are issued instantly and cost $100. Bonds up to $25,000 are also issued instantly, but the cost is calculated at a rate of $20 per $1,000 of coverage. If you need a bond larger than $25,000, your premium will be determined by an underwriter.

Bond Type Bond Amount Cost*
$1-$5,000 Certificate of Title Bond $1-$5,000 $100 GET A QUOTE
$5,001-$25,000 Certificate of Title Bond $5,001-$25,000 $100+ GET A QUOTE
$25,001+ Certificate of Title Bond $25,001+ Subject to Underwriting GET A QUOTE

How to get a bonded title in North Carolina

To get a bonded title in North Carolina, applicants must complete all steps required by the North Carolina DMV (NCDMV):

  1. Have the vehicle inspected by the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles
  2. Have the vehicle appraised
  3. Purchase an indemnity bond
  4. Put the vehicle through an emissions inspection
  5. Pay the required taxes and fees
Overnight Shipping
50,000 Satisfied
Customers Nationwide
No Hidden Fees

Why does North Carolina require title bonds?

The North Carolina Commissioner of Insurance requires individuals with insufficient proof of ownership of their vehicles to post surety bonds as a means of getting a bonded title. The required bond amount must equal 1.5 times the appraisal value of the vehicle. Applicants should verify their required amount of bond coverage prior to bonding.

North Carolina certificate of title bonds are posted to satisfy the requirements set in Section 76 of Chapter 20 of the General Statutes of North Carolina. These bonds are put in place to protect any prior owner or lienholder of the vehicle and any subsequent purchaser of the vehicle in the event the issuance of a new certificate of title causes loss or damage.

Please note that this bond is required if you have lost or obtain insufficient evidence of proper ownership of your vehicle. If you are planning to sell cars and other vehicles, a North Carolina motor vehicle dealer bond is required.

Getting your North Carolina title bond

Certificate of title bonds in North Carolina remain valid for 3 years from the date of issuance. The bond remains in full force and effect until surrendered by the state of North Carolina, Division of Motor Vehicles as provided in Section 76 of Chapter 20 of the General Statutes of North Carolina.

The vehicle’s year, make, body style and identification number must be listed on the surety bond form.

Additional Resources

North Carolina Department of Transportation: Vehicle Titles

§ 20-76. Title lost or unlawfully detained; bond as condition to issuance of new certificate.

Chapter 20. Motor Vehicles

MVR-1 Title Application

MVR-92H Affidavit of Facts to Accompany Indemnity Bond

North Carolina Department of Transportation: Emissions Inspections